Friday, July 2, 2010

Facebook Permanent Deletion - An option that is hidden..

"Do you know that you can permanently delete your account, as well as deactivate the account?"
"What??"
"Confusing, isn't it? 
Mostly the deactivating option has been misinterpreted as the delete option, while it is just a mere hide. You can log-in to your account at any time, and start 'facebooking' as usual, though restoring the groups and notes may take a few hours. But there *is* also a permanent deletion option, which is hardly known/used.

You can give it a *try*. 

The funny part is, permanent deletion dialogs are not user-friendly and mechanical, while the deactivating option has a nice interface with super-friendly messages, "oh.. why are you leaving.. your pal Llovizna will miss you.. "

Once you requested the permanent deletion of the account, you will be given a fortnight. You can reactivate your account within that period, if you feel so. After the fortnight your account will be gone forever! :)

Delete my account
If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would like your account deleted, then click "Submit".


(No one is going to miss you in this case! Poor you!!)

Permanently delete account
Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.

Pradeeban feels it could have been done better.

4 comments:

  1. Thanks Shakunthala, recently created (and deleted) a dummy account (not ready to lose my original profile.. ;)), just to check this deletion's validity. Have to see the outcome after two weeks. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I did one more interesting thing. Facebook does not allow users to publish links that carry a potential threat.

    However, without any objection (not even CAPTCHA) I posted this link on my wall. Now it looks like some people 'Like' it, but not going give up Facebook. LOL :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. Since this is from facebook's site itself, it can't consider it as a potential threat, I guess. Yes. Most people like this 'feature', but no one seems to try this anyway. :D :D

    ReplyDelete